Pretty excited about this one. To celebrate the 20th year anniversary, the 1991 Sonic Youth tour documentary The Year Punk Broke is finally getting a DVD release. Universal music is set to release the tour doc which follows SY around Europe with tour openers Nirvana and appearances from Mudhoney, Babes In Toyland, The Ramones and more. The DVD will also contain bonus performances and footage.

Hard to express fully just how important this movie was and in my opinion a real behind the scenes look into the burgeoning alternative music scene as well as just how much of a part Sonic Youth played on a culture about to explode. And always great to see those rare glimpses of the pre stardom Nirvana who had no idea they were about to turn the music world upside down. Not sure on the release date yet but I’ll be sure to keep ya posted. Check out this clip from the move of some back stage scenes and Nirvana performing Polly. If you can’t wait check out more clips on You Tube, there are plenty floating around.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: