LUSH!

I’ve always loved the band Lush. I know hardcore shoegaze fans might disagree but to me they were one of the top bands on the scene and their dreamy melodies really epitomized the genre and the shoegaze sound in the late 80’s and early 90’s.

I don’t think they ever have gotten the respect like other great bands such as Ride or My Bloody Valentine but I’ve always been a sucker for a bit of pop and Lush managed to blend quite perfectly the light airy side of the sound at that time with a catchiness that most of their peers couldn’t match.

Friends and fellow guitarists Miki Brenyi and Emma Anderson formed Lush in 1998 and after gaining a few fans in the right places secured a deal with 4AD records and quickly went from support act to headlining their own tours. After releasing a few solid EP’s they released my personal fav the full length “Spooky” in ’92. They album did well in the UK charts but critics slammed it due to it’s heavy production from Robin Guthrie of the Cocteau Twins.

I was also fortunate in the same year to catch Lush live on the ’92 Lollapalooza tour. I remember everyone being so stoked for Pearl Jam and Red Hot Chilli Peppers but I felt like one of the only dudes that had to get in early to see Lush and Jesus & Mary Chain! The music didn’t seem to jive with the other heavy american bands, not to mention they seemed a bit out of step playing in the middle of the afternoon in the hot July sun. But for me though I enjoyed the rest of the acts as well Lush were (along with the Mary Chain) were the highlight of the festival and solidified my ongoing crush on the fire haired guitarist Breny. I just had to throw that in there!!!

They then came back with a follow up in ’94 but after mixed reviews and audiences hungry for britpop in the UK and grunge in the US the band seemed to get lost in the shuffle.

A reformed Lush returned in ’96 with the CD “Lovelife’ with a bit of a new sound that seemed to be just what the doctor ordered gaining them a top 20 hit in the UK and their highest chart position in the US with the single Ladykiller.

Then sadly in late ’96 drummer Chris Acland was found dead after he hanged himself in his parents house. Devastated the band went on hiatus and eventually disbanded.

Unfortunately we never got to see or hear what would have came out of the the success of the Lovelife LP but fortunately they did leave us with some great music that helped bridge the gap between shoegaze and the britpop. For those who love Lush enjoy these two videos from two of my personal favs. If you are new to them the following clips will be a great introduction.

4 Responses to “LUSH!”

  1. Thanks for giving one of my all-time fav band some love! Still have a crush on Miki!

    • matthewrubbish Says:

      No problem! They were a great band who don’t get the credit they deserve. Thanks for checking out the blog and it’s good to hear another shares my feelings for Miki!

  2. Lush is one of my all time favorite bands! I got to see them twice and I met them on the street in the east village once! Cool blog Matt!

Leave a Reply

