SPIN ARCHIVES

So, like many of my entries this one is inspired by an earlier post. A while back I posted here a short bit about the Hershey PA band The Ocean Blue and their excellent debut CD.  Strangely enough it was one of the most commented on and it got me thinking about another south eastern PA band called Suddenly Tammy!

Suddenly Tammy were a short lived early 90’s indie band outta Lancaster PA that put out a few singles and CD’s on the great label Spin Art (Home to other great acts such as The Apples In Stereo, Trampoline, Small Factory and many others) Well as I said I got to thinking about the band and googled  them. As I expected I didn’t find much but I did stumble across a short mention of them in an old Spin article on Google Books and let me tell you the flood gates were open.

I ended up spending several hours that evening and many more hours the following day looking at old Spin issues from the late 80’s and early 90’s. I was glued to the computer looking at the picts and reading reviews from bands like Red Lorry Yellow Lorry or Velocity Girl but the real fun came from checking out the ads! Floods of memories with everything from blank cassette tapes (I preferred Maxell but could rarely afford them) to early 90’s day glo condom ads.

I decided to snag a few and put them up. I could have uploaded SO MANY and maybe I will post a few more but if interested check out a handful of them here or do your self a favor and hop on over to google books and have a blast from the past all of your own!

And in case you have never heard them here is a video from Suddenly Tammy and what is probably their best known song Lamp. ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

