THE BIG THREE!

While preparing to get the Warning Radio podcast off the ground and actually up for people to check out I’ve been (even more than usual) listening to a lot of the music lately. I’ve been digging out and playing a lot of lesser known bands from back in the day but i have been finding myself really listening a lot to The Smiths, The Cure and Depeche Mode

Back in Jr. High and my early high school days of the mid to late 80’s I didn’t know a ton of people who shared similar music tastes as myself but most of the people I did know who did liked The Smiths, The Cure and Depeche Mode. And chances are they were probably the bands that got them into alternative music in the first place.

Also, when I used to DJ (it sounds a bit corny but) I used to refer to them as “The Big 3” because for the crowd of people I played for “The Big 3” always got the best response on the dance floor and if things did happen to go south with a track that didn’t go over quite as well as I hopped, I could always follow up with a track by any of them and things were sure to get back on track.

Here’s a classic from The Cure that never failed to get the crowd going. Check out this killer extended mix of Boys Don’t Cry

Leave a Reply

